Forum > Health and Disability

Visit to the dentist

(1/6) > >>

ditchdwellers:
I'm going to start this by saying it takes a lot for me to drag myself to the dentist. Over the years I have had some really traumatic experiences at the hands of brutal dentists who just wouldn't listen to me, and failed to understand the complexities of my health conditions and how they affect my oral health. 

Since moving, I decided it was finally time to seek out a dentist as I have been having toothache for over a year and haven't seen a dentist in the last 8 years. When I made my first appointment a couple of months ago, I was very surprised by the calm and professional manner my new dentist approached me. He actually listened! He had read up about my medical complications prior to the appointment and actually asked me how they would affect my treatment  :f_smiley:
I was amazed! 
Turns out I needed two extractions. 

So, yesterday I had the first of the extractions. We worked out a signal that I could use to let him know if I experienced any pain and it was over and done with very quickly. 
I'm so relieved I finally had it dealt with and I'm so pleased to have found someone I can trust. 

From now on, I will regularly have my check ups here. Ace dentist  :thumbsup:

Sunshine Meadows:
Well done in going to the dentist to get a check up and then again to get work done  :big_hugs:

Sunny Clouds:
I'm really pleased you've found a good dentist.  It's not easy.

ditchdwellers:
Thank you both. I must admit it's a huge relief to have faced my fears. 
Thankfully, dentists today don't seem to be intent in causing you pain or carrying out unnecessary treatment like they used to.

Sunny Clouds:
I think sometimes it's pot-luck.  I had one dentist a few years back who said I needed a root canal and inlay.  I wasn't convinced an inlay would be best and said I wanted a crown but he was adamant that an inlay was what was needed.  He wanted £400 to do it.