Author Topic: Personal Independence Payment - an overview  (Read 2622 times)


  • Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9170
Personal Independence Payment - an overview
« on: 13 Feb 2012 06:09PM »
From 2013 the Government is proposing to introduce a new benefit called Personal Independence Payment (PIP) for eligible working age people aged 16 to 64 to replace Disability Living Allowance (DLA).  These proposals are currently going through Parliament as part of a larger Welfare Reform Bill and may be subject to change, so this information is as correct as it can be at the time of posting - KK

What the change means

Between 2013 and 2016 everyone aged 16 to 64 receiving DLA will be reassessed to see whether they are entitled to the new Personal Independence Payment.

People entitled to PIP will have their claims transferred over and their DLA will stop.

Those not found to be entitled to PIP will be informed and their DLA will stop. They may be able to claim other benefits.

There are no current plans to replace DLA with PIP for children aged under 16 and people over the age of 65 who are already receiving DLA.

How will entitlement to PIP be assessed and decided upon?

The assessment for the new benefit to decide a person’s level of need will be carried out by an independent health professional.   The assessor will consider the evidence provided by the person claiming and professionals that support them on a regular basis.

Most people will also be asked to a face-to-face consultation with this assessor as part of the claim process.

The assessor will provide advice to a benefit decision maker at the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP), who will then use all of this to decide entitlement.

Entitlement to PIP will depend on how your ability to carry out daily living and / or mobility activities is affected by your condition or disability. It won’t depend on what type of health condition or disability you have.

Nor will it be determined by what award of DLA you currently get. You may be entitled to more, the same or less than your current DLA award, or you may not qualify for PIP at all.

What are the parts to Personal Independence Payment?

Personal Independence Payment will have a Daily Living component and a Mobility component.  Awards will be made up of one or both of these components.

Each component will have two rates – standard and enhanced. The amount for each rate is still to be decided.

Awards of Personal Independence Payment will be based upon the circumstances of the individual and will look at the impact of the disability or health condition and the extent to which someone is able to live independently.

When will these changes start taking effect?

If the PIP proposals are successfully passed by Parliament, all current DLA claims will start to be re-assessed from autumn 2013.  New claims will be treated as PIP claims from April 2013.

There will be a three month qualifying period and the health condition or disability must be expected to last for a further nine months as well.

Individuals will not necessarily have to wait three months, as the qualifying period starts from when the individual’s eligible needs arise and not from when they make a claim.

For example someone might have had difficulty walking for three months, or more when they apply for Personal Independence Payment and the condition is expected to last a further nine months.

People of working age who get DLA who are invited to apply will be treated as having met the three month qualifying period because of the time they have already spent claiming DLA.

Individuals with a terminal illness will be fast tracked on to a guaranteed payment of the enhanced rate of the daily living component of Personal Independence Payment and will also be able to apply for the mobility component without having to satisfy the qualifying period.

More detailed information on the actual qualifying criteria will be posted either on request or when the arrangements are definite.

« Last Edit: 05 Sep 2012 02:09PM by SunshineMeadows »