Forum > Health and Disability

Back Pain

(1/3) > >>

ditchdwellers:
I've had neck and spinal pain for some years now and it has been getting worse over the last few years.
For a bit of background I have Ehlers Danlos Syndrome (EDS) and Psoriatic Arthritis (PsA) which have both contributed to the rate of deterioration and symptoms.

About ten years ago I was diagnosed with cervical joint issues causing nerve impingement however surgery can be problematic with EDS so the symptoms aren't yet severe and I can manage them. At the same time degenerative disc disease was also diagnosed.

Since then I have started to get a lot of SI pain and lumbar pain. My rheumatologist has been injecting steroids into my SI joints to calm the inflammation but the effects only last for six weeks or so. It does nothing for the lumbar pain. The last MRI I had was about 18 months ago and it showed that I have a few lumbar haemangiomas. I think it's these that are currently causing the excruciating lower back pain I'm currently feeling. At my most recent rheumatology appointment about ten days ago I said how much I'm struggling and I'm getting a referral to a spinal team at a different hospital who are supposed to be very good. I really hope they are and I hope my appointment isn't too far away as I'm barely able to stand long enough to brush my teeth before my back gives out.

Anyone got any back pain stories they would like to share or gentle exercise ideas?
Bear in mind I can't get on the floor or kneel without my kneecaps getting funny ideas  :f_laugh:

Fiz: